Fitting the Pieces Together

A few months ago, I began EDUC 6115, Learning Theories Instructions. I thought, I was a visual learner and did not think about it much, until I began to deepen more into the understanding of learning theories, styles and strategies. Today, I realize, yes I remember by visualizing but I also practice metacognition and self-regulation during the learning process. I supervise my reactions to problems and how I am retrieving the information while trying to resolve the problem. In this case is not only visual imaging but also writing the information or drawing it in a piece of paper or my ipad notebook, while I learned. If I have an emotional reaction to the information presented than is more likely, I will easily retrieve the information, when is needed.

Over the past few weeks, I have learned my own personal learning preferences. I learned and use elaboration learning strategy, to be able to have a more effective way to retrieve the information when I needed. Comprehension monitoring, is a natural learning strategy I have always use. On the other hand, technology plays a very important part in my learning process. Many years ago, I used to go to the library and take books in reference to subjects needed for my studies. Today, I can visit many libraries online from Barry University Library, to Walden E-library. To record the information, I have fun using my iphone or ipad. However, when I need to create a post, a project that includes videos and photos, I use my tablet computer.

In a matter of weeks, not only have I learned so much about my own learning preferences. But I also have, the great feeling of when you can define and understand the way you learn. Indeed, in a more exciting way, I learned, effective ways to create instruction by understanding target learners’ styles. Indeed, the past few weeks of Learning Theories Instructions, have been enlightening and fun!

References:
Laureate Publication, Inc. [Laureate Education]. (n.d.). An Introduction to Learning. Retrieved from Walden course EDUC 6115.
Laureate Publication, Inc. [Laureate Education]. (n.d.). Information Processing and the Brain. Retrieved from Walden course EDUC 6115.
Laureate Publication, Inc. [Laureate Education]. (n.d.). Information Processing and Problem Solving. Retrieved from Walden course EDUC 6115.
Laureate Publication, Inc. [Laureate Education]. (n.d.). Learning Styles and Strategies. Retrieved from Walden course EDUC 6115

This entry was posted in Instructional Design. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

