Learning Theory Instruction Reflection

How the human brain process information is always a fascinating subject. Learning Theories Instruction EDUC 6115, sure gave me the opportunity not only to learn how human brain process information, but also to understand reactions of what happens to that information during the learning process. This course also gave me the opportunity to gain knowledge of learning theories, learning styles, learning strategies, motivation. Most important, I gained the knowledge to understand how participants learn and how to apply learning theories and strategies into designing instruction effectively.

I found striking how amazingly effective and successful we can maximize designing instruction, when we gain knowledge about learning styles, learning strategies and be able to understand the way learners actually learn. In Learning Styles and Strategies (Laureate Education, Inc., n.d.), Dr. Ormrod explains her preference for learning strategies (collaboration, comprehension monitoring and mnemonics), rather than learning styles to be applied when designing instruction. Collaboration is a learning strategy, we learned during this course. I am already applying it while designing a training tool. A great example, I just finish a destination presentation to share with colleagues about, Punta Cana. Since, I know the key factors needed related to work, that will assist my colleagues. I created the presentation with an activity for participants to elaborate while the presentation is running. After the presentation, we would share what we elaborated on with a game to make it fun and easy to remember. Consequently, due to relatedness among colleagues, we would be able to retrieve the information learned and apply it when needed.

This course deepened my understanding about my personal learning process. I knew I was a visual learner before I began EDUC 6115. However, as I deepened my understanding about information processing, problem solving, learning theories. I realized I apply cognitive theory combined with constructivism during the learning process. In Information Processing and Problem Solving (Laureate Education, Inc., n.d.), Dr. Ormrod discusses the main pieces of information while solving a problem are encoding, retrieving and metacognition. Furthermore, I understood by nature I am metacognitively astute, and practice self-regulation, creating strategies in relation to learning and problem solving. It was great to learn and understand how my brain process information while problem solving.

All learning theories, learning styles, educational technologies and motivation, connect as they are all about the human brain learning experiences. As we deepened into the study of how human brain processes information and the reaction while problem solving. We can clearly see all theories are interconnected. On the other hand, we can also see that learning is a fascinating subject which studies will continue for many years to come.

I am not able to apply this course in the field of Instructional design at this time. However, this course will help me to further my career to enter into training. In the near future, as I enter into the training and performance development field, I am sure I will look back into my notes, book and resources to review and apply the information learned. As a learner and a scholar, I am already applying learning strategies such as collaboration and comprehension monitoring, when creating training tools to share with my peers.

Indeed, Learning Theories Instruction EDUC 6115 is a great foundation for designing effective instruction by understanding the way people learn. The ability to assist participants to be able to develop learning strategies, so they can retrieve the information learned when needed, is priceless. Also, understanding how participants learn and be able to motivate them to keep focus during the learning process is key for them to feel self-achieved and masters of the task at hand. I am truly happy as well to be able to understand my leaning style and be able to grow by developing strategies to assist me in the learning process and design instruction.

References
Laureate Publication, Inc. [Producer]. (n.d.). Information Processing and Problem Solving. Retrieved
from Walden course EDUC 6115.
Laureate Publication, Inc. [Producer]. (n.d.). Learning Styles and Strategies. Retrieved from Walden
course EDUC 6115.

This entry was posted in Instructional Design. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

